Wednesday, June 20, 2012

The Resilent Family!

Family First | VoiceAmerica™

There’s an awful lot of doom and gloom out there for families to contemplate. With persistent national and personal debt, shrinking resources, climate change, malnutrition along side of obesity, and adjustments in the very concept of family, families are feeling the stress of constant change. Fortunately, there is hope in the form of contemporary grassroots movements, according to my guest this week on Family First, James H. Lee. In his new book Resilience and the Future of Everyday Life,

 Lee shows how these movements can restore self-reliance and community engagement. He will discuss how families can take control of their own destiny and help to create the future they want for their children and grandchildren. Lee will be sharing such concepts as discreet consumption, transition towns, repurposing, the elder boom, moving beyond the adolescent culture, do-it-yourself banking, barter and digital commerce, and edible landscaping. His ideas will definitely expand your current options.

 Click on the link above or go to at 4 PM ET, 3 PM CT, 2 PM MT, 1 PM PT this Friday, or any time afterwards for on demand or podcast.

 James H. Lee is a Delaware-based financial advisor who engages in extensive research and analysis of emerging technologies and social trends. During his 20 year career, his system has identified numerous investment opportunities for his clients. Lee is the author Resilience and the Future of Everyday Life. James has been interviewed by The Wall Street Journal, Financial Planning, and Medical Economics.

 Lee has also written for The Futurist, the Journal of Futures Studies, and Technological Forecasting and Social Change. Lee is a popular blogger for the World Future Society and has presented at their annual conference. He is also a member of the Association of Professional Futurists. Lee graduated from the College of William & Mary with a B.A. in Economics and received a Master’s degree in Studies of the Future from the University of HoustonClear Lake. He is a Certified Financial Planner (CFP), Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA), and a Chartered Market Technician (CMT).

To hear James Lee’s exciting insights, click on the link above or go to at 4 PM ET, 3 PM CT, 2 PM MT, 1 PM PT this Friday, or any time afterwards for on demand or podcast.

Take Home Tips from Randy Rolfe: Our children must be equipped for a future we cannot easily predict. So our job as parents is to give them confidence, thinking and problem solving skills, and a sense of curiosity, compassion, and hope about their future and the world's future. We know things will change and we can give them the tools we have learned to use to respond to change and to create the world we want to live in..

No comments: